When is an artist album not exactly an artist album? When, for that matter, is a mixcomp by no means a

straight-forward mixcomp!? Well, for one, when Subculture does them! For their upcoming long-player,

the label has rolled the central elements from both mediums into one compelling collection, meaningfully

and emphatically titled ‘Subculture’.

Highlighting two of the distinct tones of the label’s range, the album is co-helmed by head-honch John O’

Callaghan and one of the scene’s biggest 2017 breakouts, Cold Blue. Both have used its occasion to put

their own production material on the frontline of its mixes. So often the mainstay of their sets, across its

29 tracks, no fewer than 19 first gleamed from the DJs’ own studios. In doing so, it offers not only the

most authentic of representations of their sets, but also as producers in their own right.

Filling in further Subculture shades from their significantly broad palette, you’ll find music from many

others from their cadre. Giuseppe Ottaviani, Temple One and Craig Connelly are just some of the

Subculture-ists whose work features significantly. Further in you’ll also find music other attuned trance

operators – David Forbes, Sied van Riel, Liam Wilson, Alex Di Stefano among them.

First to the decks is the Subculture kingpin himself, O’Callaghan. In primetime mode from its embarking

beat, JOC gets into the thick of it with a swathe of his own material. Included amongst are upcoming

single ‘Choice of the Angels’, album-premiering ‘Permutations’ and Giuseppe Ottaviani’s freshly juiced

spin on the classic ‘Out Of Nowhere’. Temple One’s made sizeable waves for the label over the past 12

months. Reflecting that in sharpest possible focus, John works Temple’s ‘Encounter’, ‘Sun After Rain’

and ‘Reaching For A Dream’ into the mix. Two of Craig Connelly’s productions strike in succession at the

midpoint with ‘A Reality’ and his latest ‘Lost Without You’. Sied van Riel and Giuseppe Ottaviani

meanwhile edge the mix-needle ever closer to the red with (respectively) ‘Hold Me Close’ and ‘Till The

Sunrise’. It’s John’s own production hand that deals the disc its final coup-de-grace. In convoy, you’ll

find current single ‘Next Stop Muddy Waters’, built-for-the-album ‘Requiem For An Angel’ and Stine

Grove’s seraphim toned ‘Our Destiny’ – collectively bringing it to its zenith.

Now, if all that isn’t a quite, quite enough of a concentrated artistic dose for you, just wait and see what

see Tobias Schuh has in store. Since his debut a decade ago, Cold Blue has enjoyed ever-greater

acclaim with each year that’s passed. Those still awaiting an album debut can take in-lieu-of solace with

what the man from Mainz has lined up. He binds no less than fourteen of his tracks and mixes into a

beautifully arranged and thrillingly structured dive into the Blue. Among them are recent singles ‘Speed

of Life’, ‘The Clash’, ‘Once In Time’ and ‘On The Outside, as well as current hit ‘Learning To Live’. There’s

also a raft of his most recent remixes, expanding the floor reach of Lowland, Alex Di Stefano, David

Forbes and others. Premiere material abounds too, with hot-off-the-desk exclusives like ‘Before We

Leave’, ‘The Wave’, ‘A New Spirit’ and ‘Daylights’.

Thoroughbred trance from both the established and recently graduated, you can order

‘Subculture – Mixed By John O’Callaghan and Cold Blue’ album here:

Subculture – Mixed by John O’Callaghan & Cold Blue

Mix 1 – John O’Callaghan

  1. John O’Callaghan – Permutations (Intro Mix)

  2. Liam Wilson – Always With Me

  3. Temple One featuring Deidre McLaughlin – Reaching for A Dream

  4. John O’Callaghan – Choice of the Angels

  5. John O’Callaghan featuring Josie – Out Of Nowhere (Giuseppe Ottaviani Remix)

  6. Temple One – Encounter

  7. Activa – Meridian

  8. Craig Connelly featuring Kate Miles – Lost Without You

  9. Craig Connelly – A Reality

  10. Temple One – Sun After Rain

  11. Sied van Riel featuring Natalie Gioia – Hold Me Close

  12. Giuseppe Ottaviani – Till The Sunrise

  13. John O’Callaghan – Next Stop Muddy Waters

  14. John O’Callaghan & Stine Grove – Our Destiny

  15. John O’Callaghan – Requiem For An Angel

Mix 2 – Cold Blue

  1. Cold Blue – Before We Leave (Intro Mix)

  2. Cold Blue – The Wave

  3. Lowland – We’ve Been Here Before (Cold Blue Remix)

  4. Cold Blue – A New Spirit

  5. Cold Blue – Speed Of Life x

  6. Cold Blue – Daylights

  7. Cold Blue – Learning To Live x

  8. Cold Blue – The Clash x

  9. Cold Blue – On The Outside (Original Mix) x

  10. Jeff Rona – Like Water (Cold Blue Remix)

  11. Cold Blue – Before We Leave

  12. Alex Di Stefano – Never Back Down (Cold Blue Remix)

  13. David Forbes featuring Emma Gillespie – Shadows (Cold Blue Remix)

  14. Cold Blue – Once In Time (Original Mix)


With close to thirty years of dance music experience under his belt, Roger Sanchez has been an icon and trailblazer in one for the House music scene. Offering his own spin on the special recipe of floor-filling and dancefloor stomping, the S-Man saw fit to team up with U.K. sensation Huxley and songstress Aimée Sophia for the next, long-awaited addition to his evergreen discography: ‘Wasting Time’.

Let’s Grab It Here

Laden with that dark and dirty underground sound Roger Sanchez’s S-Man moniker is synonymous with, ‘Wasting Time’ delves into brilliant grooves and sterling vocals to create a sonic mixture that brings the heat to the dancefloor. The roaring bass and danceable rhythms prove the icing on the cake as ‘Wasting Time’ sets out to conquer underground club circuits worldwide.


Ever pushing himself to his creative limits, Roger Sanchez has proven to be the kingpin of House with innumerable productions under some of House’s most acclaimed monikers, enticing remixes for the likes of Michael Jackson, The Police, Diana Ross, Jamiroquai, Maroon 5 and No Doubt (‘Hella Good’, earning him a Grammy for ‘Best Remixed Recording’ in 2003), countless far-reaching DJ sets and his work for pillar labels such as Undr The Radr and Stealth as their founder and head honcho. Roger Sanchez’s track record is laden with prized productions and meritorious sound excursions, and ‘Wasting Time’ fits right in with those.

Hailing from the U.K., Huxley is easily one of the most versatile House sensations to emerge in recent years. With an all-inclusive discography and a sixth sense for switching up sounds and styles at the right time, the multifarious DJ and producer has taken the spotlight with various highly-acclaimed producers and live sets that helped him reach everything from vast festival stages to small, sweaty basements across the world, from Africa to Australia. Now heading up his own Rinse FM show, Huxley definitely proves an artist to watch and the perfect collaborator for the S-Man on ‘Wasting Time’.

Watch the official music video HERE