Thu. Jun 20th, 2019


5 min read


With matters ‘Materia’ to attend to, Cosmic Gate’s ‘Wake Your Mind Sessions’ series went on hiatus last

year. Absence, as they say, only makes the heart grow fonder and today the news those left bereft in ‘17

wanted, nay needed to hear… ‘WYMS’s back, baby!! Reinstated to its traditional release March slot, it’s

ready to springboard you headfirst into Spring!

So what’s what with ‘003’ then? Well – dare we say – it’s bolder in vision and even wider in its style &

power-band. Bigger too, by virtue of an even higher ratio of exclusives, premieres and first-listen tracks –

all threaded into the mix. Leaving no studio door un-knocked or creative avenue unexplored, Nic & Bossi

have – as ever – been tireless in sourcing its sonic ordnance. That’s resulted in music, mixes and mash-

ups as far as eye can see & ear can hear!

Included among them, ripe from the studio desks of Estiva, Eskai and Leo Reyes, are new reworks of

some of ‘Materia’s most majestic moments. You’ll also find freshly inked Wake Your Mind Records

signings courtesy of Greenhaven DJs, Noise Zoo, Patrick White and Marcus Santoro. Mash-ups abound

too, with Cosmic Gate getting their hands on artists as diverse as Third Party and Marco V. And naturally

they all fall between the hottest, latest soundware from a super-starry tracklist cast – Above & Beyond,

Gabriel & Dresden, Kyau & Albert & Genix, Wellenrausch & Gai Barone and Tim Mason to mention but a few.

On completing Wake You Mind Sessions 003, Cosmic Gate’s Bossi commented: “as ever, a great deal of

thought went into the structuring of these mixes. The first person we played it to really put their finger on

it: ‘CD1, I turn on at work and CD2 I listen to in the car before I go out’ Music to our ears – that was

exactly what we were going for!

As laser meets disc, the atmosphere-soaked pads of Eskai’s intro-tweaked ‘Fall Into You’ mix get us

underway. Early tone dialed-in, mix.01 plots a cool path through the progressive sound-fields. Staking

their righteous claims there are Above & Beyond & Richard Bedford, with the Spencer Brown reworking

of ‘Northern Soul’ and Jerome Isma-Ae & Alastor’s instrumental take on Wellenrausch/Gai Barone collab

‘Heroes of Light’.

Signaling a subtle-yet-perceptible upswing in feel, Cosmic Gate & Alastor’s ‘Fight The Feeling’ has

‘WYMS003’ cross from prog into trance. Courtesy of Greenhaven DJs ‘The Unexamined’ and Tim Mason’

s jacked-up ‘Switcher’, techier and more distortion-heavy vibes seize its centre-ground. Bringing Mix 1 to

its mercurial apex are Maor Levi’s deliciously warped ‘Juno’ and Cosmic Gate just-released rephrase of

Gabriel & Dresden’s ‘Only Road’.

Through Estiva’s ethereal rework of CG x Super8 & Tab outing ‘Noom’ and ‘Find The Sun’ by Raz Nitzan

& Moya Brennan, Mix 2 opens in cooler waters. This being Cosmic Gate though, you know it’s but a

momentary calm before the storm. Ahead of the album’s mixing, the Wake Your Mind Records contract

pen’s seen action aplenty and Nic & Bossi use the second disc’s midpoint to break out their latest


Elaborating, Bossi says: “we were blessed with a mass of exclusive track submissions from young &

upcoming producers. In the end there proved to be too much great work to choose from! (We wanna

send an especially big shout out to all the producers from around the world who sent us tracks!!). In the

end we signed material from Australia’s Markus Santoro, Patrick White from Poland, Holland’s Noise Zoo

and Greenhaven DJs from the USA. All exclusive on this album and later to be released on our label WYM

Records. Keep a close ear out for them. Nic & I reckon you’re going to be hearing a lot more from these

guys in the future!!”

As it hits the home straight, CG reopen ‘Materia’s track-trove, lining up Ferry Corsten collab ‘Dynamic’,

current single ‘If Not Now’ and – exclusively – Leo Reyes’ blistering remix of CG & Markus Schulz’s ‘AR’.

To gift the mix a fitting finale, Nic & Bossi have included two new, thoroughly locomotive mash-ups for it.

‘Like This Body Of Conflict’ twists their (what else but!) classic ‘Body Of Conflict’ around last year’s pulse

racing hit from Third Party. ‘WYMS003’s valedictory track (and a celebration of all things ‘V’) ‘Muraco’s

Godd’ sees Marco V’s most recent and most revered tracks united as one, for the techiest, most fearsome of tie-offs.

Flowing and gazelle-like in places, charging rhino-like in others, ‘Wake Your Mind Sessions 003’ is

another deftly mixed Cosmic Gate masterpiece. 160 minutes of cortex-wobblingly music to enjoy in the

privacy of your own party, you can pop it on digital pre-order here:, or

for the CD edition click here: or for the CD edition click here:

Tracklist: ‘Cosmic Gate – Wake Your Mind Sessions 003’

Mix 01.

  1. Cosmic Gate & JES – Fall Into You (Eskai Intro Remix)

  2. Di Rugerio – Aeternis

  3. Max Freegrant & Slow Fish – Sweet Lies

  4. Tinlicker featuring Thomas Oliver – Nothing Without You

  5. Paul Thomas & K3V – Aquamarina

  6. Above & Beyond featuring Richard Bedford – Northern Soul (Spencer Brown Remix)

  7. Wellenrausch & Gai Barone – Heroes of Light (Jerome Isma-Ae & Alastor Remix)

  8. Max Ruby – Awaiting

  9. Cosmic Gate & Alastor – Fight The Feeling

  10. Nato Medrado – Small Room (Tinlicker Remix)

  11. Greenhaven DJs – The Unexamined

  12. Tim Mason – Switcher

  13. Cosmic Gate & Emma Hewitt – Tonight (Fatum Remix)

  14. Maor Levi – Juno

  15. Gabriel & Dresden featuring Sub Teal – Only Road (Cosmic Gate Remix)

Mix 02.

  1. Cosmic Gate & Super8 & Tab – Noom (Estiva Remix)

  2. Raz Nitzan & Moya Brennan – Find The Sun (Rafael Frost Dub)

  3. Adam Sobiech – Rush Hour

  4. Noise Zoo – Freefall

  5. Cosmic Gate & JES – If Not Now (Club Mix)

  6. Patrick White – Reason

  7. Sunny Lax – So Long

  8. Cosmic Gate & Ferry Corsten – Dynamic

  9. Marcus Santoro – Whispers

  10. Dennis Kenzo & Clara Yates – Other Side

  11. Kyau & Albert & Genix – Mantis

  12. Cosmic Gate & Sarah Lynn – Folded Wings (Rafael Frost Remix)

  13. Cosmic Gate vs. Third Party – Like This Body Of Conflict (Cosmic Gate Mash Up)

  14. Arkham Knights vs. Fred Baker – Total Vibration

  15. Cosmic Gate & Markus Schulz – AR (Leo Reyes Remix)

  16. Marco V – Muraco’s Godd

Tell me what you think

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.
Skip to toolbar